Nepal and Pakistan drop out of Asia Korfball Championship 2016

The International Korfbal Federation (IKF) publishes a new schedule and participants list for the 2016 Asia Korfball championship in Jaipur, India. The number of participants is reduced to five, with Nepal and Pakistan gone from the list. The duration of the event has gone from eight to four days, starting on 26 August. A reason for the withdrawal is missing.

The remaining participants are:

  • China
  • Hong Kong
  • India
  • Sri Lanka
  • Taiwan

Three of the participants recently participated at the U23 World Korfball Championships in Olomouc, Czech Republic, being China, Hong Kong and Taiwan. It will be interesting to see if host country India will claim a spot in the final ranking of this Asia Korfball Championship above one of these three countries.